Blue Flower

Spiritualism in Horwich

The spiritualist movement has been in Horwich since 1872.  In 1899, John Ward founded the 'society', now known as Horwich National Spiritualist Church.  The first home was based at 36 Beatrice Street, just behind the current premises on Chorley New Road. The spiritualist community built the church through fundraising, and taking out a loan of £1,000, paid off over the following decade.  A celebration was held in 1932, with 240 past and present members and distinguished guests attending the celebration.  The final cheque of £10 was handed over to the lenders, meaning that the church was without debt for the first time. 

Religious activity has taken many forms over the years.  Our Divine and Healing Services have been consistent throughout the our history, but we have also held many other events.  Such events include Demonstrations of Mediumship, Open Circles, Awareness and Development classes and much more.  We have offered many opportunities to live, learn and develop a spiritualist life for many people. 

Our church has been the starting point for many Mediums over the years, modern day including Phil Dykes, Gareth Lewis, & Aiden Hall to name but three.  The only known Minister of the Spiritualist National Union from Horwich church was Minister Lily Sherrington, Ordained in 1967.  Lily was active in the church prior to the marriage to Jack Sherrington in 1938, and continued to serve Horwich, and wider spiritualism until her passing to the Spirit world in 1988.  Lily became President of the Manchester District Council in 1979, and became a deputy for former President of the SNU, Minister Gordon Higginson.  Horwich NSC has been blessed to have had dedicated friends throughout its history, be it trustees, committee officials, ordinary committee, members and the congregation.  Our intention will be to list Lily and others in a page of dedication on this site over time, as we gather the history of the church. 

Away from religious services, the church has often been a focal point for the community with Saturday dance nights, seasonal fair's, jumble sales, and many more community events. Post World War II, the church took an active part in providing school diners to the local children, helping keep the local community running in very difficult times.  15 tables of 10 were served each day, meaning the church had a significant part to play in the community.  We also were the home to the local Old Age Pensioners from 1942-1959

Our church is ran by a dedicated committee, who work hard to keep the doors open, and provide the members of the church with a temple of spirituality. We also have a number of trustees who have responsibility for the church building, and here to support the church committee and members as required. To become a member of the committee, members who meet certain criteria are permitted to nominate themselves, or be nominated at annual elections of church officers and ordinary committee members. The elections are usually held at the AGM in April of each year.

Membership of Horwich NSC

We always welcome new members to our church. Members of the church are able to attend and contribute to general and special meetings of the church. Full members are able to vote on decisions that affect our future. Members who reach a certain criteria are able to make themselves available for selection on committee, subject to being nominated and voted on at the AGM. Members of the church are eligible for discounts at a number of events in the church. 'Specials' and classes for example will see discounts for members.

To become an Affiliate Member for 2017 will cost a fee of £6. Full membership may be offered to Associate Members by the committee if regular attendance at services and a commitment to spiritualism has been displayed. This will be after a minimum of 6 months.

Committee Members - Church Officers

President (Acting) - Mr Chris Sherrington

Vice President - Position Vacant

Secretary - Mrs Janet McManus

Treasurer (Acting)  - Mrs Sandra Haslam

Booking Secretary (Acting) - Katie Crozier

Ordinary Committee Members

Mr John Houghton
Mrs Joan Barrow (Healing Lead)
Mrs Marion Crompton